Bath Trip – Herschel Museum

Thought i would upload a pictorial of my recent trip to Bath, in Somerset after being reminded of the yearly Jane Austen Festival which happens in September. I so wish i could go but my holiday is in October this year, perhaps next year. I really loved my little break in Bath and the first place i visited was the Herschel Museum, a short walk round a corner from the circus. I wanted to cram as much as i could into my holiday as i could and i like science, especially astronomy which is what William Herschel was famous for, he is “best remembered for the discovery of Uranus, William Herschel was also responsible for increasing the dimensions of the Milky Way, discovering the satellites of Saturn and other planets, the rotation of Saturn’s rings as well as the motion of binary stars”.

He use to make and polish his own telescope in his work-shop, on the floor is the marks from the molten tin that was drop and cracked the floor.

They even had on display a visitor entry when he was becoming famous for his work, here the Princess Royal, Charlotte the eldest daughter of George III and her younger sister Augusta are noted visitors, I got a little excited when I saw this, was a good job i was on my own.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course i was really excited when i saw they had an original dress worn by William’s sister Caroline, who also acted as a secretary to him and was a very intelligent lady in her own right. I’m only 5 foot so i was shocked to see how small the dress was, apparently they were wafer thin back then because this dress was from the end of the 18th century when she was an older lady.

Leave a Reply

